Home > Occupy Wall Street > Is the Occupy Wall Street movement actually accomplishing anything?

Is the Occupy Wall Street movement actually accomplishing anything?

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t understand Occupy Wall Street.  The only things I hear going on down at the protests are people loitering on public property, taking shits on cop cars, getting gassed by the cops and – the latest revelation – sexual assaults occurring at an alarming frequency.  Some of these are said to include underage girls and sex offenders.

I’m even less a fan of the Tea Party but I don’t recall any of this going on during any of their demonstrations.

Many of the folks at the protests seem to be from the younger 20-something crowd who are more interested in railing against “the man” and bosses and the rich and anyone else who has likely spent a lifetime working towards making a life and a career for themselves.  Apparently, these protesters don’t seem to have jobs or responsibilities of any kind either.  If I told my wife I was going to be camping out in a tent for the next month complaining about Wall Street executives while she stayed home and raised the kids, I’m pretty sure she’d tell me to not bother coming back.

And therein lies another rub.  Why is the focus on Wall Street?  Why not argue against the power of big corporations like Walmart that end up destroying small towns by driving every mom and pop shop out of business?

Maybe the issue is that there is no leader in this movement.  There’s nobody that’s able to step forward and be the voice.  Instead, you get reporters asking people in the crowd what they’re looking to accomplish and inevitably they just find a stoner who’s more interested in who he’s going to share a tent with that night.

I don’t get it and I doubt I’m going to get it.  Until someone offers me something more substantial than “I hate those rich Wall Street people”, I won’t be interested in what they have to say.

  1. November 4, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    They’re still finding their voice and starting to shape a new national dialog. If you’re looking for a more concrete change, Bank of America did decide to cancel their plans to charge a monthly $5 debit card fee. They didn’t make that choice out of the goodness of their hearts.

    • November 4, 2011 at 7:36 pm

      I’ll give you that but I think with the economy in bad shape and a 9% unemployment rate, few people of any political leaning are OK with being dinged an extra $60 a year just to access their own money. B of A made a bad choice to introduce this at the wrong time.

  2. Jake
    November 8, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I’m not sure why Wall Street is their primary focus. I understand the main goal is to restore the economy, but Wall Street is only a symptom of the problem. It’s caused by federal government negligence more than anything. So even if Wall Street were to somehow completely go out of business as a result of this protest, some other corporate medium would very quickly take their spot, and things would keep going as they were.
    I like the protest, I just don’t think the majority of them fully understand what the problem is.

    • November 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      I agree. I understand why people aren’t fans of the bailouts but the alternative of letting all the big banks fail might have been worse. Plus, there’s a lot of blame that could go around outside of Wall Street.

  3. November 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I would suggest that the news is increasingly hard to sort out. What you hear and what is said may not be entirely accurate. I have posted from three visits to the Wall St site and also to St Louis. (http://imagedevent.wordpress.com/) A picture is not a sound bite, but you can see that the folks there are not homeless, jobless, young, shiftless or addicts. But those folks make the most colorful statement. Everyone is manipulating the news. This includes the most well intentioned folks as well as the fringe radicals. The scene on Wall St has returned to some normalcy after the addicts and homeless were cleared out and have not returned. There is still not any agenda. But they’re working on it.

    • November 29, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I was encouraged that OWS started getting rid of the negatives in their midst. I’d like to see a clear message come out of the protests but I’m still not sure there is one.

  4. December 1, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    “I’m so scared of this anti-Wall Street effort. I’m frightened to death.”

    — GOP strategist Frank Luntz, quoted by Yahoo News, noting the Occupy Wall Street protests are “having an impact on what the American people think of capitalism.”

    • December 2, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Yeah, me too. I’m not sure what people will think will happen if capitalism goes away. Maybe if they knew more about what happened in places like Russia they’d think twice.

  5. December 10, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    They remind me of the anti-logging crowd when I first moved to the Northwest. I’m all for protecting old-growth and sensible logging. When the news reported that activists were demonstrating against a certain cutting, I was favorably disposed to their cause.

    Then I actually *saw* these guys in person. They were a bunch of grungy guys with no jobs just stirring folks up. After that, while I’m still for responsible use of woodlands, it was a lot harder to take those guys seriously.

    Same holds for the Occupy folks. While I can sympathize with some of what they stand for, the movement itself doesn’t do much for me.

    • December 11, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      I can certainly understand that some people are frustrated with Wall Street but it’s almost as if the people that are being shown in the news and interviewed are clouding the message. It’s easy to dismiss them as young, unemployed, lazy, etc. even if the message may have merit.

    • December 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      I sympathize with the idea of cleaning up capitalism in America, and Wall Street is obviously the place to start, but I’m still waiting for someone to stand up and take the lead on this — all of the stuff I’ve seen about OWS has been from people who seem more interested in looking like the protest movement of the 60s, than focused on their own message. I’m still waiting for someone to step up with a reasoned, intelligent voice as a representative of this movement. I haven’t seen anyone making any kind of organized, positive impression, or a sensible argument, anywhere in this so-called movement. The only movement I’m hearing about is the BMs on cop cars.

  6. Mark Mcguire
    December 11, 2011 at 3:26 am

    Hi Dave

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I agree that it is hard to work out exactly what the occupy protesters are hoping to accomplish. However, I do think it is interesting to see the decline in democratic processes at the national level (Greece, Spain, Portugal, and others facing IMF/EU “agreements”) while we see a very localized form of hyper-democracy at the Occupy sites. The movement seems to be at a turning point, now that they have been evicted by police im many of the most high profile cities and locations. I listened to a helpful documentary today from “Background Briefing” about the Occupy movement in Australia (http://goo.gl/opSRu). We have a very small camp in the city centre in Dunedin, New Zealand, where I live. It will be interesting to see how this all plays out.

    Mark McGuire
    Blog: http://markmcguire.net/
    Twitter: @mark_mcguire

    • December 11, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      It seems like OWS had been picking up some momentum but it all seems to have been lost once police started clearing out camps. I really doubt they make much of an impact from here on out.

  7. December 11, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    thanks for looking and liking my post. this whole occupy movement can be a little intimidating to understand, because like you said, there is no leader. and you have a valid point of walmart and other big corporations. the simple way to look at this is that occupying wall street was the start, the ignition for the “99%” to start in america. you have to remember that this was presented first elsewhere and we were moved by it and started occupying here.

    people are occupying for many reasons and the message does get lost because of it. but it is the idea of protesting the “big guys” who are the ones who own corporations like walmart, and Jake from above brings up a great point. and taking away capitalism will not be good, but not having it be corrupted is another thing.

    • December 11, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      I think it started out as a protest against Wall Street and then when others jumped in, upset for whatever reason, turned it into a protest against just about anything. The message got very muddled and I think that’s what’s starting to sink the movement.

  8. December 12, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    We have the same problems over here on our side of the “pond” in our case they are all camping out on the green outside St Paul’s. Like you I do not like the fat cat bankers ! At first the clergy of St Paul’s welcomed peaceful protesters now with the entire countries’ nair’do wells joining in urinating and deficating and having sex all over the place the Church has not a leg to stand on …they need to go in with water cannon three times a day , say for health and safety reasons ?? this time of year I reckon they would be gone in under a week!!

    • December 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

      Some of the stories in the news really sounded bad. I hope they’ve cleared out some of the troublemakers but it sounds like they’re clearing out everybody now.

  9. JL
    December 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    The only thing I know about Occupy is Panda Guy. And that’s all I know… that there is a person by the name of “Panda Guy”… what he does or who he is, I ‘unno. I’ve never even heard of Occupy until a few days ago. Just goes to show how unconnected I am to the media. =/

    • December 16, 2011 at 10:10 am

      I’ve never even heard of this Panda Guy. Now you’ve got me curious.

  10. December 13, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Can someone please tell me very, very simply why people are so angry at Wall Street?

    • December 14, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      ‘Cause that’s where the 1% are at?

  11. Nicola
    December 13, 2011 at 11:43 am

    There’s lots of mixed reporting from media about OccupyLSX too but they have managed to peacefully and politely protest (with some exceptions), self-organise and engage the people around them including members of financial services industry who go past the area and are willing to enter in discussion,or donate, or participate further. I have visited a few times and each time I’ve been impressed by the quality and depth of thinking by many people I have listened and spoken with. TentCityUniversity is a great example and they have extended this to wider audience by recording and distributing the lectures and discussions: http://www.learnex.dmu.ac.uk/2011/11/10/a-teach-in-at-tent-city-university-and-the-struggle-for-alternatives/

    I think that we are far too ready to accept either the status quo or a slightly amended alternative and Occupy movement has successfully created a holding space to allow more people to join the conversation from a variety of backgrounds. They have also raised awareness of complex issues which affect / cause financial crises.

    Blogs like Naked Capitalism provide very thoughtful analysis by people who have worked/working in government, financial services and they fully support the #Occupy movement.

    Overall I think Christopher Wren would have been fascinated to see how opportunities for systemic change are being envisioned and explored at the foot of St Paul’s Cathedral, the recent report from St Paul’s on the City of London.

    • December 14, 2011 at 1:11 pm

      I’m not sure what complex issues they’ve raised awareness of. They’re upset about the Wall Street bailouts. I get that. But outside of that, I’m not sure what they’ve presented. They’re squatting in parks and public places and building little nomad communities but I’m not aware of any concrete proposals or alternatives they’ve presented. They’re just railing against people with more than them.

  12. December 15, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Great post Dave, however if the people don’t vote, will it really make a difference.

    • December 15, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      Absolutely true! Thanks for visiting.

  13. December 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Hey Dave,
    Thanks for dropping in and thanks for the like. I figured I would come over and take a look around your house too. I will read more of your stuff. Looks like a well run site. first though; I noticed your articles about OWS. I read two of them; one being the call for an end to the protests.
    I felt that I really wanted and needed to address a few points about the movement. This runs a bit long. Sorry; I kept it as short as I could.If at any time you feel that I am directing any of this at you personally or minimizing the validity of your opinion; I’m not. I see that you are a self-described Liberal. I applaud that.
    You said: Until someone offers me something more substantial than “I hate those rich Wall Street people”, I won’t be interested in what they have to say.
    Well up popped old Angryman with a whole peck of “sub”; a good bit of “stantial” and a little bit of “angry” just for spice.
    I think it would help you to follow my line of reasoning to it’s conclusion and see if it makes a difference in how you feel about OWS.
    I have included links to four short videos. I hope you will take the time to watch them as they help support what I am saying and are pretty entertaining as well. This is the first one entitled: “Is OWS having an effect?” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4p1Y1CUm_s
    First; Grassroots movements are by their nature a bit disorganized, especially at first. They spring up here and there led by local people. This is because Grassroots movements don’t happen for no reason. They don’t even happen for small cause. It takes a widespread sense of unease. A general feeling that something is terribly wrong and must be fixed. But also a widespread understanding that the political system is not going to do anything to fix the problem(s). This is what causes the people to move. So by it’s very nature such a Movement begins in a state of almost complete disorganization.
    To say that they lack focus or a clear purpose is merely wishful thinking on the part of Conservatives who are living in daily greater fear of this movement.
    The organization grows as groups in diverse cities connect and begin to plan in co-operation with each other. The focus is admittedly multi-faceted but it is present. Different people have different specific concerns but all of these people are out there telling the government, the banks, the wealthy corporate entities and the top 1% that they are tired.
    Tired of the corruption, the corporate involvement in politics, and the thieving bankers.
    The loss of our jobs, our retirement pensions, our future.
    Now; as the movement has grown; what began as an unfocused crowd with varied concerns has coalesced into a crowd who have identified the single most important issue. The one issue that will allow the changes we seek and need.
    Because all of the concerns expressed by the OWS protesters are valid concerns. More issues should no doubt be added to the list but all that can now wait. Must, now wait until we have settled this one overiding problem.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Adr_Pck6VI&feature=related numbers
    The corruption of and corporate involvement in politics. If we can remove the corporate influence and downright politician buying. If we can make it difficult to impossible for the Uber-wealthy Bankers and other Corporate CEOs from donating money to political campaigns it would have a two-fold benefit because it would also give candidates and equal amount of money to spend on the campaign, thus preventing one party from “buying” an election by pouring money into advertizing etc. when the other party has no way to match the investment.
    Also consider that the next Presidential election is predicted to cost over a billion dollars. Studies show that members of congress spend fully one-third of their time soliciting donations. They need to start collecting dollars for the next election as soon as this one ends. Imagine how much more could be accomplished by a Congress which didn’t have to worry about fund raising.
    In addition to that; consider that the list of the largest contributers to all of the political candidates; Republican and Democrat are Big Banks and other multi-billion dollar corporations with special needs and wants that they need filled. Candidate needs money; corporation needs something deregulated or wildnerness opened for oil exploration or tax breaks or what ever thing it is that they can’t get unless they pay the politicans to arrange it.
    Why; if it wasn’t for a politicians need to beg and kiss corporate ass for money; he would be free to introduce and support bills that he believed in. many of our leaders would like to do good for the people. They believe in freedom. They have good hearts but they are forced to take Big Corporate money to finace their campaign and therefore must acceed to the demands of those corporations. They are forced to support legislation deliberately designed to destroy our country and its people It’s time to free them as well as ourselves.
    Because the truth is that someone is pulling the strings and everyone including Barak Obama is just dancing to the music and singing the song as written on the carefully concealed cue cards.
    How else can you explain a two party system where the party’s rhetoric is so different but their actions so similar? It only stands to reason that if the same corporations are paying both parties; both parties will carry out the wishes of the same corporations.
    You said: I started out it seemed as a protest against the Wall Street bailouts and the huge bonuses that executives receive regardless of the company’s performance. That type of protest I can understand.
    Well the problem is that the protests were never about just that. The protests began and everyone had different things they were upset about. The bail-outs and the corruption in the Wall Street Banks were among those issues. But the base problem is not the bail-outs. It’s what those bail-outs; repeated bail-outs represent. Corporate ownership of our nation. Corporate ownership of our entire political system. Check out the video by clicking on the link.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E9BKKr_CAAI truth
    You said: But since then the actual protests have been overshadowed by everything else that’s gone on at the Occupy campsites. And it’s a fairly impressive list of lawless behavior – rape, sexual assault, assaulting police, public urination, vandalism, theft, disturbing the peace. Stories are breaking on almost a daily basis of something that’s going on in the Occupy camps. Demonstrators need to be broken up with tear gas by police in riot gear. Dozens of people are being arrested at a time.
    The OWS Movement is a big thing and getting bigger. getting bigger and spreading. Thousands of people have come out and it only promises to continue growing. I know it isn’t a pleasent thing but anytime you have large crowds; you have crime. Pickpockets,muggings and yes rapes and murders.Criminals like to attach themselves to crowds and opposers of the movement are of such a charactor that it is quite possible that they are sending in paid criminals to attempt to discredit the movement. But think. The same things were true in every case of massive protests in history. Even Sporting events and concerts; religious assemblies and political conventions. But do you suppose Martin Luther King, Susan B Anthony, or any of the other organizers of massive public demonstrations and popular movements considered stopping because of the actions of a few criminals? Where would we be if the Anti-war movement of the 1960’s had given up just because they had criminals and troublemakers among them. In Viet-Nam probably. Crime, theft, assault, and most other crimes you can think of are going to be present at such large demonstrations; just as they are present in our society at large. But unfortunately, these are colateral damage and can not be avoided.
    The corporations and the political system are working overtime to hoard the money; do away with the middle class; and turn our beautiful country into one huge slave labor camp where the very wealthy rule and the very poor obey in order to earn a n]mere subsustance. We can’t stop now. We must stand and we must win. It is no longer a matter of should we go on? It is a matter of life or death for the average American. We are no longer fighting just to correct the bail-outs. This is revolution. We are fighting for the thing we were intended to have and should have had all along.
    The problems and issues that OWS is addressing won’t be solved by electing anther Democrat or Republican. The problems we have will only be solved when the control of our nation is taken from the corporations and the 1% and given to the people. The 99%.
    Our government is far too far in the grasp of corruption and corporate greed. We need a new system. One that will work to assure justice, freedom, and security for the 99% as well as the old system is doing for the 1%. This is no kids game or middle school petition drive to save the swingset. This is the American people standing up and saying they are not going to have it any longer.
    You said: I agree 100% that any otherwise rule-abiding citizen who is peacefully and legally protesting (regardless of their political affiliation or whether or not I agree with what they’re protesting) deserves the ability to protest. I have no doubt that the majority of protestors are doing just that but I also agree that there a lot of undesirables that are getting all the attention right now and are ruining things for everybody.
    The undesireables are not running things Dave. The right-wing media would like you to believe that. They bend and twist and selectively interview and report but definitely watch this video. It will suggest places where you can get reliable news. Fox news is in bed with the corporations as are most of the big national news outlets. If you want the truth you need to get your news from somewhere else.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNz069tLU3U not alone
    You said: I completely support people’s rights to protest but it also needs to be done in a manner which ensures safety to all.
    You see? This is one reason it takes so much provocation for the people to take to the streets as we have.
    There is no way to ensure safety for all during a protest. But we are protesting because we are already unsafe in our own country. Our own leaders and their Corporate Masters are already killing us by paying too little; taking too much; denying us health care, shelter. work and chipping away at our rights under the guise of Homeland Security or National Security.
    So what you are asking is that we end the movement to fight the souless criminals who are raping the entire 300 million citizens of America in order to be sure that passersby are not annoyed or heckled?
    To assure that no crimes are committed near the protests?
    Seriously?

    You said: First, they’re squatting, not assembling. They’re “occupying” public property for their own self-interests. You can’t occupy public land (Yes you can. That’s why it’s called Public land. It’s owned by the Public. We; the people; OWS, are the Public.)
    any more than I can walk into my neighbor’s house and say that I live there now. (You see? Your neighbor’s house is Private Property and you are correct. You can’t occupy your neigbor’s Private property. That is known in legal terms as “Home Invasion”
    You said: And that’s not even discussing the fact that they’re destroying the place.
    Of course, I won’t say that damage has not been done. And more will be done. Accidentally, purposely; through use and some through abuse. Damage, like crime comes along with the package. It is not the intention but it is the unavoidable consequence of raising the ire of the American people and forcing them to peacably assemble to seek redress of their grievences instead of settling their grievences before they were driven to this action.
    Second, the Constitution gives you the right to “lawfully assemble”.
    Amendment I-copied from http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution_transcript.html
    Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or
    prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of
    the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the
    Government for a redress of grievances.
    Actually the 1st amendment says nothing about “lawfully”. Anytime the people peacably assemble; it is lawful.
    The amendment says nothing restricting the time, place, size, or duration of such assemblies.
    There are many people who would like to place restrictions on us but none exist. They say you must assemble here or you can only protest between the hours of ___ to ___ or you can only protest in this way. But none of these restrictions are sanctioned by the Constitution.
    But would you like to know what it does say? It says: “Congress shall make no law/abridging the freedom of speach/or the right of the people to peacably assemble/.”
    So if it is the people’s right to assemble; and Congress can make no law abridging (limiting) that right. Then it follows that any damage inadvertantly caused by that assembly must be considered an unavoidable consequence of the people excersizing their rights. The risk of such damage is part of living and doing business in a free country where the people have this right.
    Now there is some disagreement about who should bear the cost and responsibility for this damage but no decision has yet been made.
    Of course damage done on purpose can be charged to the perpetrator of such damage but incidental damage is just that. You can’t stop the protests to protect a few shop windows or Aunt Minnie Pearl’s favorite flower pot.
    From your statement you seem to think the OWS Movement is a child’s afternoon entertainment or a temper tantrum that will pass with time. Then we can all go back to our nice life and spend our time discussing the pros and cons of various political Philosophies and griping about the new Bill requiring Congressmen to wear red plaid suspenders on Monday…..or Tuesday……or when they will be screwing the people again. And our wives will bake the buns and we will all have coffee and call ourselves Liberals and play Cribbage and congratulate ourselves on being clean and good and open-minded.
    But Dave; I don’t think our lives are ever going to be the same again. This Movement is quickly moving in the direction of Non-Violent Revolution. I don’t see any way to turn back. The people are moving already to occupy America. What did you think that meant Dave? A weekend Camp-out? I don’t mean to be rude. It’s a gift.
    This Movement isn’t going anywhere.
    This Movement is going everywhere.
    This movement will either be our salvation or our death as a people because whatever sad, wounded, downtrodden group of humans comes out the other side if we lose; it won’t be anything that can be called a people.
    It will instead be a population of virtual slaves to the Capitalist Giants. All thoughts of Rights and the American Dream can be deleted from the memory.
    But that is where we are headed anyway if we just sit back and have some lovely buns and coffee and discuss……………………………..
    You said: What part of rape, sexual assault, killing, vandalism and public urination falls under “lawful”?
    The answer of course is “none” But let’s take New York as an example: With the crime rate what it is in most of our urban areas; I can’t believe that OWS is causing that much of a rise in the crime rate of New York City. And as a Liberal; I can’t believe that you are being taken in by the right-wing propagandists of the Big Media. But then again, I can believe it and it’s not your fault. Listen man; the Conservatives/Republicans/Right Wing spend enye-millions of dollars making sure that their lies are spread louder, farther, faster, and more frequently than any other. That’s why OWS has recieved so little press especially positive press. If you want truth; you won’t find it on Fox, CNN, or MSNBC. My God. Have you watched CNN lately? Their newspeople are barely able to spell their own names……………with cue cards. Those people are no more journalists than I am a Concert Pianist.
    But wait! What if there is another reason they are so upset. Could it be that they are only upset about the crimes because those crimes are taking place in the Oh so High Brow Financial District?
    I’ll bet if OWS wanted to protest over in Bed Sty; no one would give a Fishes Feather about the criminals drawn by the crowds.
    Over and over I am told by Conservative acquaintances that the Occupy Wall Street Movement is doomed to fail. They will fail because they lack focus and organization. They will resort to violence and we will have bloody riots in the streets.
    But when I hear from someone like yourself, the same things I hear from them; I worry. It makes me believe that our message and the truth about the Movement and it’s goals is still not reaching those who need to hear it most.
    If you claim to be a Liberal; it would behoove you to investigate the things I am saying.
    Subscribe to the “Moment of Clarity” videos and go to you tube and watch all of the old ones. Lee Camp is at the forefront of the movement. Not as a leader but as one of it’s most outspoken supporters.
    Check out Congressman Keith Ellison’s website. There you will find the text of the Constitutional Amendment he is sponsering.
    You said: When the police give you a chance to leave peacefully, take it. If you decide to stay in defiance of police orders, expect the worst. It’s as simple as that.
    Ooh! Ooh! I know, I know! Things a Cop might say;……..things a Politician might say?……..Things a Conservative might say.
    What? This was said by a Liberal? No way. Not ever. Dat guy? No way.
    Dave;……………when the Police give you a chance to leave peacefully when you are exercising your right of assembly and free speach; you don’t leave. You sit down. This is what is known as Civil Disobedience and it as old a tactic for achieving peaceful change as any in the toolbox.
    Expect the worst? No Sir. What I expect is to be treated with the respect due a citizen of this country engaged in exercising their rights as specified in the Constitution.
    I should never expect to be beaten, gassed, peppered. or even arrested for my actions as long as I maintain the peace.
    If I believe in the cause; if I really believe that change is necessary to save my country, (and I do) then I must be prepared to withstand any and all of these things. Only in this way can we we prevail. I certainly would never be able to look myself in the mirror again if I ran or gave in to the pressure from Police illegaly seeking to detain me.
    The other possible choice is to co-operate when asked to leave; then reappear later in a different place. If you continue this move and protest plan when asked to leave, you will insure that the Police are forced to deal with you repeatedly therby using more manpower and resources than if they had left you alone to begin with.
    Dave, The OWS Movement didn’t begin on a whim. It didn’t begin because thousands and thousands of American Patriots, all over the country; had nothing to do with their spare time for the weekend.
    It started because a huge number of Americans see that this country is headed down the tubes unless we step in and stop the Uber-wealthy Money Mongers now. Before the middle class is a thing of the past.
    And make no mistake. The OWS protesters are American Patriots in the finest sense of the word.
    They are Carbon Copies of the thousands of people who fought the British in 1776.
    Most didn’t know the real reasons they were fighting then. They actually believed that they were fighting to free the American people from a Tyrant; but that in no way lessens the value of their sacrifice; their bravery or their dedication to that freedom.
    Today Dave; that is exactly what we are doing. We are fighting a Tyrant. A man or a committee. Never seen and never acknowledged but weilding the power of the “1%” of the whole world. All who would serve must do obesence to them first.
    “Take the money Joe. Think of all the good you can do after you’re elected” “Seat belts on School Buses, Pooper Scooper laws to keep the Park clean, maybe even a 2 cent reduction in the tax on Pet Poopie Pick-up Baggies. How would that be; Hmmmmmm?”
    “And this is just the beginning, Joe. The money will keep coming. Soon you’ll be Governor. And then perhaps when you are a bit older; President. It’s not out of reach Joe”
    “All we want is a some exceptions to a few of those pesky damn anti-polution regulations.”
    “The chemicals we use are perfectly safe Joe. It’s that Damn EPA and their paranoid lists and regulations. Our chemicals somehow got tagged along with the rest.”
    It happens to all the most likely candidates. The offer to sell their soul. And only those under contract to the Corporate Devil succeed.

    The call has gone out Dave and the people will respond. I don’t expect it to be overnight but with the help of the people; talking, protesting, blogging; we will prevail because we must.
    So get your wife and tell her you can no longer stand by and watch the destruction of our nation. Make whatever arrangements you need to and get yourselves down to the protest. You don’t have to sleep there. You can go anytime and stay as long as you can and come back again as often as you can. Talk to the people there and hear their stories. Find out what’s really going on. We need everyone. America needs everyone.

  14. December 17, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. See my post Are Youn John Galt [http://michaelbenjamin2012.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/are-you-john-galt/], where I urge OWS and the Tea Party to see their common interests.

  15. May 21, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    You wrote: “I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t understand Occupy Wall Street. The only things I hear going on down at the protests are people loitering on public property, taking shits on cop cars, getting gassed by the cops and – the latest revelation – sexual assaults occurring at an alarming frequency. Some of these are said to include underage girls and sex offenders.”

    The reason you don’t understand this “movement” is you’re obviously a serious man who looks for more than empty rhetoric in political causes.

    On May 16, 2011, I published a three-part series about “Punishing Corporate Treason” on my blog, at http://www.bureaucracybuster.com. If you take a look, you’ll see it’s filled with specific, concrete proposals for quickly returning millions of willing-to-work Americans to permanent, fulltime work.

    But nothing like this has come out of the Occupy Wall Street movement. I’m certain you’re right that a major reason for this is “there is no leader in this movement.” I believe another reason for this is that too many people believe that simply getting in front of a TV camera is all it takes to solve a problem.

    These people had a genuine opportunity to address a mounting danger to our nation–the sheer power of corporations to corrupt and dominate our political and social lives. But, as you say: “Until someone offers me something more substantial than ‘I hate those rich Wall Street people,’ I won’t be interested in what they have to say.”

    And why should you? These are not serious people, or they would have, by now, come up with realistic proposals to address the very problems they love to rail about.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

