Home > Sports > In Defense Of Tim Tebow

In Defense Of Tim Tebow

November 23, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Even if you’re not a fan of football, you’ve probably heard his name.  If you’re a church-goer, you’ve almost certainly heard about his unusual combination of football prowess and religious devotion.  By statistical standards, he’s just an average NFL quarterback.  He is also quite possibly the most polarizing figure in sports today.

He is Tim Tebow.

And I’m not sure I would’ve said this a few months ago but today I can.  I’m a Tim Tebow fan.

As a football player, he is known simply as a winner.  He has won at every level he’s played at – high school (he was a two-time Florida Player of the Year and All-American leading Nease High School to a state title), college (he was a two-time first team All-American and Heisman Trophy winner while leading the University of Florida to two national championships) and now at the pro level (while his statistics are somewhat middling he’s led the Denver Broncos to a 4-1 as a starter).

As a person, he is known as a devout Christian who wears his religious beliefs on his sleeve.  He was homeschooled along with his four brothers and sisters and has performed missionary work in the Philippines.  As a college player, he quoted Bible verses on the black stripes he wore under his eyes during football games.  By all accounts, he’s a wonderful guy.  He’s the type of guy you’d want your daughter to date.

His greatest contribution to popular culture may be that of Tebowing – the practice of kneeling in prayer following a big play during a game.  Others have been known to kneel in prayer following a big touchdown but Tebow is widely credited as the guy who brought the practice to the masses.

And yet it’s that religious devotion, that moment knelt in prayer, the pointing to the heavens and thanking God before anything else that provides the rub.

Tebow is equally adored and loathed.  His loyalists point to his devotion to God, work ethic and family values as reasons to love him.  Skeptics however have begun to grow tired of the Bible thumping (the Tebowing website exists largely to mock Tebow and his prayerful celebration pose).

Former Broncos quarterback Jake Plummer went on record during a radio interview recently saying he’s tired of Tebow’s antics.  Plummer had this to say about the current Broncos quarterback…

I think he’s a winner and I respect that about him.  I think that when he accepts the fact that we know that he loves Jesus Christ, then I think I’ll like him a little better.  I don’t hate him because of that, I just would rather not have to hear that every time he takes a good snap or makes a good handoff.

Tebow, for his part, took it all in stride just as he has done countless times in the past.  In response to the Plummer criticism, Tebow first thanked him for calling him a winner.  Then, he offered this…

If you’re married and you have a wife and you really love your wife, is it good enough to only say to your wife ‘I love her’ the day you get married?  Or should you tell her every single day when you wake up and every opportunity?  That’s how I feel about my relationship with Jesus Christ.

He responded with similar diplomacy when asked about Broncos football operations chief (and Hall of Famer) John Elway’s less than ringing endorsement of him.

I’ve had a blast living out my dream for the last five weeks.  I will continue to work as hard as I can to make this organization proud.  Every time I step on the field I will give everything I have and I will leave everything I have on the field every Sunday.

I’ve been less than a fan of Tebow in the past and this is the first time I’ve really taken the time to listen to him.  My kneejerk response when I finally did?  How can you not like this guy?  He’s a quality human being.  He’s personable.  He’s funny.  He’s hard-working.  He’s as straight edge as they come.  He’s not a Stone Cold Steve Austin anti-hero type.  He’s just a good guy.  Aren’t those the type of qualities we want and like in a person?

I’m not sure I’ll ever be a big fan of Tebow’s but I think you can definitely now count me as one of his supporters.  Yes, the praying and Tebowing can probably be a little much at times but I’d much rather see that type of celebration than Randy Moss mooning fans as part of a touchdown celebration.

Tim Tebow, in my eyes, will continue to be a winner both on the football field and in the game of life.

  1. November 23, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Tebow is not your traditional quarterback, the problem is you can’t build an offense on that style of play. Even Elway is looking for a quarterback in the upcoming draft. Yes he was a winner in high school as well as college, except this is the pros, which require pro style plays. Look at Cam Newton, he’s shown he can be a pocket passer with the threat of running, compare the numbers of both Qb’s. Secondly, stop with all the proselytizing, God doesn’t care about sports. I want to be entertained for three hours. Not look at you kneel or raise both fingers upward. Remember Reggie(minister of defense)White who famously said he has prayed for victories, yeah. He played on a heck of a team when he went to the Superbowl. I love God, he gets the praise we get the victory, but on Sunday, just play ball.

    • November 23, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Yes, I would agree that football is not very high on God’s priority list. He is definitely more suited to be a college QB and I think it might not be long before he’s run out as a TE or something. Reggie was a great player but he also slandered homosexuals. Nobody’s perfect.

  2. December 1, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Thoughtful analysis – I enjoyed it very much. I agree – his actions are much easier to accept than so much of the other nonsense going on out there.

    Thanks for visiting and subscribing to my blog! I couldn’t find an E-mail address to send you a note, so I’ll leave it here. I post daily and my topics are all the board, mostly because of the daily word challenge. Some posts are long and thoughtful, others are short.

    Have a good week and keep up the good work on your blog!

    • December 2, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      Thanks for the visit! I appreciate you stopping by!

      I agree that with everything going on Tim Tebow and his religious zealousness should be pretty low on our collective priority lists. He’s not hurting anybody with his beliefs (and actually may be doing some good)!

      I’m a little behind in checking in with people who’ve checked in here but your site will definitely be on the list!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

