Home > Popular Culture > Random Things That Annoy Me

Random Things That Annoy Me

November 28, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m taking a little bit of a deviation from the normal post you usually see here.  The holidays (especially Thanksgiving and Black Friday) have a tendency to bring out the best of the human spirit (sarcasm alert on the Black Friday part).  After reading about some of the wonderful stories of people doing their Christmas shopping, I decided to put  together a list of some of the random things I saw this weekend that annoyed the hell out of me.  Yes, all of these things actually happened this weekend.

People who flip on their hazard lights and think it makes anywhere a legal parking space

I can’t tell you how I annoyed I get when I see some old person parked in the fire lane in front of a grocery store with their hazard lights on.  Or a handicapped parking spot.  Or the middle of a four lane road.  And they just sit there for ten solid minutes waiting for their wives to pick up coffee and butter cookies with no remorse.  Get your ass in a parking spot!  That’s what they’re there for!

What do they think the conversation will go like when the police officer asks what’s going on?

“Sir, you can’t park here.  This is a fire lane.”

“But I have my hazard lights on.”

“Oh, I’m sorry about that.  I didn’t see you put your hazard lights on.  Stay as long as you want.  I’ll have the fire trucks steer around you.  Have a nice day!”

People who are at the end of a checkout line but jump right to the front when a new checkout line opens

I tend to believe in this unwritten rule that you hold your place in line regardless of how many checkout lines open or close.  If I’m in line and a new line opens, I always offer the person in front of me to go ahead if they want.  I think it’s just common courtesy.  That’s just me.

But not everyone thinks that way.  Some people think it’s a race to get out of the store first, courtesy be damned.  I saw this incident in a Kohl’s.  This woman was at the back of the line.  She could see that a new line was about to open and you could see her getting ready to pounce.  When the cashier made the announcement that the line was opening, she literally ran to the register to be the first one there.  And the old gray hair ladies in front of her in line let her have it!

They called her out to the cashiers.  They called her out to the other shoppers in line.  The complained about her out loud to no one in particular.  When they complained to her directly, the lady made some excuse about needing to hurry because she was “on her way to a funeral” (who shops on Black Friday right before a funeral?).  I was firmly behind the old ladies.  She deserved to get called out.

People who sit and wait five minutes for a parking spot

I see this especially at the shopping malls from people who do constant loops for about 20 minutes right next to the front door just waiting for a space to open instead of parking at the first available spot and walking their lazy asses a hundred feet.

Then, they see someone they think is walking out to their car and they do their driver/stalker thing driving 3MPH right behind them to make sure they’re first in line to their spot.

I like to walk back to my car one aisle over from where it actually is.  When I see a driver/stalker behind me, I reel them looking for my car and even pulling out my car keys like I’m almost there.  Then I cut over to the next aisle to actually get to my car leaving them looking for a new walker.  Yeah, it can be a stupid, immature thing to do but it makes me feel a little better.

People who treat free samples like lunch

You’d think some of these people hadn’t eaten for days to watch them.  A plate of little mini bagel slices turns into a big free-for-all.

When my wife and I bought our wedding cake (we got it from a Whole Foods-like grocery store), they put out a plate of samples for us (that was clearly for us along with the wedding cake fliers and picture books).  People literally elbowed us out of the way to get to these samples that weren’t even for them.  Old ladies too.  I remember one old lady who physically nudged us aside to get a bite of cake and then fingered out some of the frosting sample to go with it.  It remains to this day the most disgusting public eating display I’ve ever seen.

People who completely block aisles with themselves and their carts

Every time I think people can’t be that oblivious as to be completely inconsiderate of anyone around them, I get surprised.  I can’t tolerate the people who block traffic in both directions with their bodies and their carts while they gaze at stuff up on the shelves.

Use the rules of the road as an example.  You don’t stop your car in the middle of a highway when you get out to ask for directions.  You shouldn’t do it in a grocery store either.

What say you?  What behavior do you find particularly annoying?  Do you have any experiences with the examples above?  Feel free to comment below.

  1. November 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Hey Dave, I am happy that you are following my blog because that led me to your blog and the above mentioned post.This is so correct. I get annoyed with most of the things that you have listed in your post. And I would like to add to the list “One thing that annoys me is when people do not offer the other person to go to cash and pay,knowing that the other person just has one or two products that is only going to take few seconds.I am talking about smaller joints like quickie or so and not Walmart where they have a separate line up for items below 10”.

    • November 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m sure I could come up with a list a mile long of things that annoy me (including your example) but I’m not sure there’s enough bandwidth.

  2. November 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Great list! I share your pain, my friend!

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:22 pm

      The sad part is that I could go on and on.

      • December 1, 2011 at 8:29 pm

        I agree – the list could go on and on. But this is a good start!

      • December 2, 2011 at 1:22 pm

        Thanks! I’m already compiling a second list. The choices are just so plentiful. I’m thinking “Random Things That Annoy Me” could become a regular feature.

  3. December 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Unfortunately, I’m sometimes one of those people who jumps to attention when a new checkout line opens! Or I’ll hop over to the back of a line if it looks like it’s thinning out. I could see how it might be annoying and rude though! Food for thought =) Does this still count, though, if it’s a self-checkout lane?

    I’d read a second list!

    • December 3, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      Always counts! In my opinion at least.

  1. December 15, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

