Home > Popular Culture, Videos > Catching Up On The Latest News

Catching Up On The Latest News

November 29, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve had a list of stuff that’s popped up in the news scribbled down for a couple of weeks now.  I’d planned on writing on each one of them but as the list grows longer and my available time to write about them grows shorter I decided to bunch them all together here and comment on them rapid-fire style.

Without further adieu, let’s catch up on the latest in the news!

All is not Fine at Syracuse

Just when you’d thought you heard enough about Penn State’s Jerry Sandusky and his “horsing around” with kids in the shower, along comes Syracus associate basketball coach Bernie Fine and his own sexual abuse scandal.  Fine faces three accusers so far who detail sexual abuse claims going back as far as the 1970s.  One of the accuser’s has released a tape of a phone conversation with Fine’s wife in which she admits to the sexual abuse and her knowledge that it was going on.

My feeling on this are the same for the Penn State case.  If these guys are indeed guilty, lock them up and throw away the key.  There’s no place in society for this and these guys deserve no benefit of the doubt.

200 pound 8 year old boy removed from family by Child & Family Services

I found this story perhaps the saddest this week.  An Ohio mom has lost custody of her son on the grounds that his obesity constitutes a form of medical neglect (8 year old boys on average weigh about 60 pounds).  It’s believed to be one of  if not the first case of a child being removed from their home because of their weight.

This is such a tough line to cross.  I’m all in support of saving this boy’s help but I just don’t know if this is the way to do it.  He probably has enough issues as is and now he has to live without his mom too in a strange new place with a strange new family?  I just don’t know if this is helping or hurting.

Did nude yoga session break up Kim Kardashian’s marriage?

I put this one in as a joke.  Because I don’t care.  Get Kim and every member of her family off of my TV for good.  Moving on…

Vote like an Egyptian

The first democratically held election since the fall of Hosni Mubarak seems to be a success.  Voter turnout is said to be “massive” and outside of some protesting which was expected the elections seem to have occurred rather peacefully and smoothly.

With all the turmoil and violence that has plagued Egypt recently, I truly hope that this is a turning point for the country to get back on track and moving towards a new democractic regime.

Early holiday shopping looks to be strong

The 2011 holiday shopping season looks to have gotten off to a strong start as Black Friday sales are reported to be up 7% over last year while Cyber Monday sales are reportedly up 15% over 2010.

This is undoubtedly good news for the struggling economy (the stock market liked the news as well as it jumped around 3% on Monday).  I think we have to exercise some discretion though.  I remember holiday sales numbers last year looking good initially only to taper off and end up disappointing.  The holiday shopping season alone won’t bring back the economy but it’s certainly a step in the right direction.

Sirhan Sirhan: Conspiracy victim

This story borders on sheer silliness.  Sirhan’s lawyers claim that Sirhan was “programmed through hypnosis to fire shots as a diversion for the real killer”.  They also claim that a bullet used to kill Robert Kennedy was switched shortly after the assassination because it didn’t match Sirhan’s gun.

I’m all for a good conspiracy theory but this one doesn’t come anywhere near believable.  Hypnosis?  Really?  We’re supposed to believe that Sirhan was programmed like a zombie to to fire random shots at the exact moment when the RFK assassination was going down?

Yeah, I won’t be planning my Sirhan Sirhan prison release party any time soon. 

Septuagenarian Smackdown

This one’s just for fun because don’t we all kind of enjoy watching two old men throw down?  These two are old Canadian Football League players that have a beef that goes back almost 50 years.  I guess some people still haven’t buried the hatchet.

  1. November 29, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    OMG!!!!! I’m sharing this on my FB page. It goes to show that geriatrics can still throw down fists and canes 🙂

    • November 29, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      Please do! I couldn’t help but laugh when I saw this.

  2. November 29, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    It’s a crazy world, right? At least it’s never boring!

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:19 pm

      Crazy, sad, strange. All words that could describe it.

  3. Leah
    November 29, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    I am so happy you included the following three stories: All is not fine at Syracuse, 200 pound 8 year old boy removed from family by Child & Family Services & Septuagenarian Smackdown.

    1. I work at a Centre that works with victims (children mainly) who have been sexually abused and this has been SUCH a huge topic and we don’t even live in the States. It has been so interesting following this story.

    2. I heard about this on the radio this morning and I honestly laughed so hard. Children Services always takes kids who are underfed (neglected), so why not start taking the over-weight kids too (I joke, I joke)

    3. I AM CANADIAN and we had our Grey Cup this past weekend and this event took place prior to the Greycup game and I am so happy you included it because it was HILARIOUS that after 48 years of not letting something go they go ‘atter like that. LOVE.

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Yeah, the Syracuse thing is just sad on so many fronts. It’s almost like you have to lock your kids up now to protect them. The 200 pound child is also sad. This kid’s got a tough road ahead of him. Thankfully, the video is damn funny. That saves the whole thing for me.

  4. November 30, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Great Post….now I feel like I know what’s going on in the world!

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks! I kind of liked the ability to knock out thoughts on a bunch of topics quickly so I may do another post in this format in the near future.

  5. November 30, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Men.

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Yeah, they’re the worst!

  6. November 30, 2011 at 11:56 am

    BTW I’m going to follow your blog. I’m a bit of a ranting liberal myself.
    Ellen

    • December 1, 2011 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks for the follow! Always great to hear from another ranter!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

