Home > Herman Cain > Herman Cain Presidential Campaign All But Over

Herman Cain Presidential Campaign All But Over

The fat lady may not have officially started singing yet but she’s definitely in the back tuning up.

We may be down to the last few days of the Herman Cain for President campaign.  Cain, once the front-runner for the Republican nomination, has been saddled in recent weeks with political gaffes ranging from extramarital affairs, inappropriate conduct and confusing statements on foreign policy.

The latest and perhaps final blow came yesterday when the Cain campaign announced that it was “reassessing” Cain’s run for the presidency.  It’s not terribly surprising considering that the Republican Party has been distancing itself from Cain in light of the sexual abuse allegations.  News media organizations similarly have been jumping off the bandwagon.

I originally supported the idea that Cain should be allowed to continue his campaign in light of the unproven allegations against him.  But now it appears that the sheer weight of the bad news that’s been piling up may push Cain to drop out altogether.

I think the time is right.  He’s clearly heading in the wrong direction in the polls and is very unlikely to recover.  It’s kind of a shame because I believe Cain is a fairly engaging guy and his 9-9-9 plan at least had generated some discussion of alternative revenue plans.  I don’t think I’ll miss him though.  He never was the best qualified candidate for President.

What say you?  Is now the right time for Herman Cain to drop out of the race?  Feel free to comment below.

  1. December 2, 2011 at 8:59 am

    When I look at this question, I’m not so much interested in whether Cain could ever win the nomination or not. I didn’t think he ever had a chance. I’m more interested in the effect of his absence on the race more generally – who will rise in the polls, and will that rise seal the deal? Or will it lead a new candidate to rise? I’m not so sure what the answer is. The media seems convinced that Cain’s leaving would throw his supporters to Gingrich, but I’m not sure that would remain in the long run: Cain is the ultimate outsider, Gingrich the definition of insider. One’s the anti-politician, the other a career politico. I think it would lead his supporters to reassess all the candidates one more time. This race remains completely wide open.

    • December 2, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      I think Gingrich is getting a lot of the Cain vote but whether it will stick remains to be seen. Cain may have been a great businessman but I think he proved to be less than adequate as a politician (sexual harrassment issues aside). My money’s still on Romney getting the nomination but I agree that it’s still open.

  2. V.
    December 2, 2011 at 9:20 am

    He should have never tried it. I don’t care so much for his private stuff, but his political qualifications are lacking, to say the least. The only reason for a run, the other GOP candidates are not better.

    • December 2, 2011 at 2:10 pm

      I agree. It’s a less than stellar Republican field. I would’ve been intrigued had Chris Christie run. I would have slammed my head against a wall if Sarah Palin ran.

  3. December 2, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Never the best qualified for President? Do we need to bring you up to speed on his credentials as opposed to Obama’s?

    • December 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      Cain may be a good businessman but his political efficacy is not as strong as the other candidates. I’m not saying a businessperson can’t be President but I don’t think Cain could’ve been that guy.

    • December 2, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      And yes I agree that Obama didn’t have much of a political resume when he rocketed to fame but he had a charisma that captured a lot of voter’s minds (especially young voters). Time well if that proved to be a good choice or not.

  4. December 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    I think a lot of people are going to be very happy….

    • December 3, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      Me too!

  5. lovethewayyoulied
    December 2, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Dave…did you just intimate that charisma capable of capturing minds was/is a credential? I’ve pre-warned you that I generally shun politics but that was cute! Not as cute as the Bill Maher skit about Cain/Hitler 999 – that was pretty mufkin funny!

    • December 3, 2011 at 8:43 am

      I’m not saying it’s necessarily a credential but I think it certainly does help sway the opinions of those who aren’t necessarily interested in the issues.

  6. December 3, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    If he lived in South Africa he would be guaranteed the presidency!!!!

    • December 3, 2011 at 9:24 pm

      Not so sure about that…..but maybe!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

