Home > Newt Gingrich > Newt Gingrich’s Lesbian Half-Sister Will Vote For Barack Obama

Newt Gingrich’s Lesbian Half-Sister Will Vote For Barack Obama

In what probably won’t come as a huge surprise, Candace Gingrich-Jones, the half-sister of Republican Presidential front-runner Newt Gingrich, has gone on record saying that she can’t support him in the race for President in 2012.  She plans on campaigning and voting for Barack Obama.

The sticking point?  Newt’s gay rights stance.  Gingrich takes the socially conservative view that opposes gay marriage while Gingrich-Jones, who is a lesbian, is an LGBT activist.  Gingrich-Jones in an interview with CNBC’s Rachel Maddow explained that while the two were “mutually respectful” there was certainly a disagreement over the pair’s respective stands on gay rights.

I guess this goes back a little ways when Newt failed to show up at his half-sister’s wedding.  I’m supportive of gay rights and I can understand why his sister probably feels slighted, disappointed, hurt and maybe even a little offended.  I mean how is she supposed to feel when her brother pretty much publicly says that he doesn’t approve of her lifestyle and her choices?

But Newt’s entitled to his opinion too.  It’s a shame that stuff like this can drive wedges between good families and I’m afraid that’s what’s happening here.  I don’t think either side is right or wrong.  They just have different opinions.

This probably won’t affect him much in his quest to get the Republican nomination but it could come more into play during the Presidential election.  How bad would it look for Newt if his own sister goes on the public campaign trail supporting Barack Obama?  Would Obama even use her in the campaign?  Is that a line he wouldn’t want to cross?  I’m not so sure.

What say you?  Do you support either side in this disagreement or are both sides entitled to their own opinions?  Feel free to comment below.

  1. December 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Newt is smart and on a roll at this time, so I simply say keep him talking … thus giving him enough opportunities to make a significant blunder. He’ll do it – the question is when.

    BTW – I’m one of those independent moderates in a swing state with the following dilemma – everyone wants our vote but nobody wants our policy.

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      They just know you’re on the fence and could swing either way but make no mistake about it. You’re joining their party. Not the other way around.

  2. December 8, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    People who will vote for Gingrich really won’t care what his sister thinks. LGTB community already knows his trance and won’t vote for him.
    And conservatives who agree with him ant vote for Obama. I don’t see it hurting Gingrich at all.

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      I’m just wondering if Obama would dare use the “how bad of a candidate could you be if your own sister won’t even vote for you” jab. I don’t think so but I wonder.

  3. December 8, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    *stance, not trance. Sorry, I’m on my “smart” phone

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      Sure, blame the phone!

  4. December 8, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I think that Newt is a moot point because I’d bet the ranch that Romney will be the republican nominee, no matter how much the Tea Party doesn’t like it.But I kinda hope that Newt stays in the race for a while, just for the sheer amusement factor. When it comes to saying and doing politically stupid things, Newt is the gift that just keeps on giving! 🙂

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      I’m a little surprised that more stuff from his time as Speaker hasn’t been dug up yet. I’m with you – I still think Romney is going to end up being the nominee. Bachmann, Cain and Perry all took their turns at the top before tumbling. I think Newt’s time is coming.

  5. December 8, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Well, that’s going to be one awkward Christmas dinner.

    Honestly, while I’m usually all for keeping the peace with one’s family, Gingrich’s half-sister certainly has an axe to grind here. I’d be a little peeved, too, if one of my close family members ran for president on a platform that includes discriminating against me and many others like me.

    So bravo to her.

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:27 pm

      Yeah, I agree. I’d probably be a little more than hurt too. I see where she’s coming from.

  6. December 9, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Newt’s life is far from boring, right? Should be an interesting election season….

    • December 9, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      I think the debates with Gingrich and Obama (with potentially Ron Paul) could be quite interesting to watch.

  7. December 31, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    Families disagree on politics all the time, a time-honored American tradition. I can’t help but respect Mr. Gingrich for honoring the convictions of his church, the Catholic Church, which defines marriage as being between a man and a woman even if it ruffles a few family feathers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

