Home > Popular Culture > Random Things That Annoy Me – Volume 2 (The Holiday Edition)

Random Things That Annoy Me – Volume 2 (The Holiday Edition)

December 15, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I said in my original list of things that annoy me that I could probably go on and on with this list.  Well, I’ve decided that today I’m going to do just that.  Except this time I’m not going to post a list of truly random things that annoy me.  I’ve compiled a special holiday-themed list of things that annoy me.

Keep in mind that I enjoy the holiday season.  I enjoy the music and the charitable giving spirit.  I just don’t enjoy everything about it.  And these things don’t really even make me upset.  They just kind of annoy me in a “just shaking my head” kind of way.

Either way, here are the latest additions to my list.  Enjoy!

Christmas cards with glitter

I inevitably get a few of these every year (including the one I got yesterday).  You get what you think is just a nice Christmas card from a family member or friend.  And then you open it.

As soon as you pull the card out, a pile of pink and red glitter pours out on to the countertop.  That’s if you’re lucky enough to have opened it over the counter.  If not, time to pull out the vacuum!  By then, you’ve already grabbed the card and realize that the glitter is stuck all over your fingers too.  And it doesn’t just wipe off easily either.  You have to SCRUB it off because that stuff sticks like glue.  You’ve got a little on your shirt.  Hell, the dog might even have some glitter on it now.  By this point, I’m way too annoyed to even read the card.  But rest assured, the giver of this card is no longer on my personal “nice” list.

Plates of Christmas cookies

We get a few of these every year too (most notably from my mother-in-law).  Here’s my beef – too much variety.  My mother-in-law notoriously (and very purposely) tries to beat out all of her sisters by making the most different kinds of cookies each year.  The problem is that is she makes a couple kinds of cookies well and is just average with the rest of them (in some cases, average is being generous).  She’s the consumate quantity over quality type person.  Some are overcooked.  Some have strange ingredients.  It’s bound to happen when you’ve got about five different types of cookies going at once and you have trouble keeping everything straight.

Being that her’s is the first we receive every year, it ends up spoiling the concept of “cookie plates” for me.  We do get one cookie plate a year from a neighbor who is very good at baking and that plate we look forward to receiving every year.  But that’s the exception, not the rule.

People who include four page essays of every detail of the year in their Christmas cards

My mother-in-law again.

I love getting Christmas cards with little notes saying how the family is doing.  The picture cards with the kids or families all posed together are even better.  But there are some people who feel the need to go into excruciating detail about every single thing that happened throughout the year.  I don’t need to know what you did on every evening of your weeklong trip to the Grand Canyon.  Say “we had a great time visiting the Grand Canyon in April” and be done with it!  Short notes with a couple of paragraphs work great for letting me know how you’re doing.  If I have to carve time into my schedule just to read the thing, it’s probably too long.

Mall Santas

Never liked them.  Probably never will.  Mall Santas kind of have the same reaction for me that clowns do for a lot of people.  I just find them a little creepy.  I’m sure a lot of them are genuine folks just trying to get into the spirit of the season but that still doesn’t help me any.

My kids have never taken a picture with a mall Santa and they probably never will unless they get old enough and practically beg to get their picture taken with one.  I know some of you are probably thinking that I’m big time overreacting on this one.  That’s fine.  You have your vices.  I have mine.

Christmas shopping (in general)

Every once in a while I get a crazy weed and think something like “it might be fun to get out and do a little Christmas shopping”.  And every time within about two minutes of setting foot inside a mall or shopping center I’m almost immediately regretting my decision.

Between the sheer volume of people that are shopping and the “every man for himself” mentality that some people use when shopping (and I’m not even talking about Black Friday), I can do without the holiday shopping experience.  I stick to doing my shopping online now.  I’d rather have to deal with the inconvience of returning something through the mail than battle the throngs of people in the stores.

What say you?  What types of holiday-related things really annoy you or get on your nerves?  Feel free to comment below.

  1. December 15, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Ditto, ditto, ditto, ditto, ditto, Dave! All of the above for me, too. Especially the glitter. Wait! I pretty much like all kinds of cookies, so let’s scratch that one.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:22 am

      I can tolerate quite a few things but glitter on cards is something I just can’t get past!

  2. December 15, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    I agree with the glitter for sure. Made that mistake of giving them out a few years ago…and heard about it. I also agree with Mall Santas because there are some that look very manacing and creepy and would not appreciate being plunked on his lap at any age.
    I think the other thing that gets me, and it may sound Scrooge-like, but is the expectation of giving gifts. I don’t have kids but I have nieces and nephews and they get gifts from me. But my idea of a nice holiday season is spending time with the folks I like and eating good food. Plain and simple. I even get uncomfortable when people give me gifts (and go overboard).

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:23 am

      Yeah, I’m with you on the gift giving too. I enjoy the music and the Christmas tree and all that but the spending hundreds if not thousands of dollars on gifts every year is a little much.

  3. Kanerva
    December 15, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Nice post. 9 days and it’s all over for another year. Hooray 🙂

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Yep, we’re almost there!

  4. December 15, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Ditto to the very first reply… +
    Given my husband has been working on Christmas Day the last few years, this one included, we have ours a week or so out. Makes it so much more relaxing when shopping (food-wise) directly before the Big (25th) day.
    I even went to suggesting we just have Christmas in July and be done with it. That being said, I love the whole Christmas thing, decorations, songs, food and getting together with family.
    Have a great Christmas Dave 🙂

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:25 am

      And to you as well!

      We tried moving our Christmas away from the 25th as well and it did make it a little less stressful. Maybe we need to do that more consistently.

  5. December 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    That made me smile – thank you! Glitter! Year round with kindy aged children … arghhh … long letters from people that never call … I do read them out of a sense of obligation … shopping at the “mall” … I like to get in and “bag it” and get out never one for “cruising” (we do not have the great online shopping and service you have in US)…Santa … we have the official ones in the stores that stay seated most of the time … but I like them 🙂 … all that being said I love Christmas and all it is truly about … Blessings!

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:42 am

      I complain about the little things but I enjoy Christmas too! Glad you enjoyed!

  6. December 15, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    this post makes me smile yes even me it annoys me to read almost novel page christmas card hahaha and oh my, Christmas cards with glitter…. 🙂

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Seems like people almost universally hate the cards with glitter!

  7. December 15, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    The Christmas letter is definitely one for me, at least to a point. I don’t need to know every detail, just give me the highlights and leave it at that. If I don’t know the rest, I probably don’t need to know. It also annoys me that this is the one time of year that many people feel obligated to help others, while the rest of the year they just go about their merry way.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Yes, I agree. Highlights. It’s all I need. Give me the bullet points and I’m happy. I don’t need the gory details.

  8. December 15, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    For the most part, I enjoy the holiday season – although the hypocrisy gets pretty old fast. I love the cookies, though – and the food. But what annoys me are tacky decorations which were most likely made in China. Ugh. A few strands of white lights with some silver tinsel looks much better than a display which looks like a post-Christmas sale at the Dollar Store.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:45 am

      You must have driven through my neighborhood! There are a few good displays but some really bad ones too!

  9. December 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Hey thank you for liking my post! I can’t be more thankful (well I could if you subscribed to my blog). As to oppose of how you got my blog I am happy! I can’t really say much aboyt your blog because at my age I don’t really understand/seem interested in your field of interest, so I’ll just have to wait until I’m older, but great thanks Dave, I salute you and goodbye!

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:46 am

      Thanks for stopping by! You’ve got years to go before you need to worry about any of this stuff. Enjoy life now while things are still simple!

  10. TBM
    December 16, 2011 at 4:18 am

    You pretty much nailed them. By the way, does your mother-in-law read your blog? That would be funny if she did. I don’t think I’ve ever received a glitter Christmas card. Now I feel left out.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:47 am

      Let’s just say she’s not very technologically savvy. I’d be surprised if she ever found her way here.

  11. December 16, 2011 at 8:37 am

    I’m with you on all of these, especially mall Santas — they and clowns both give me the screaming heebie-jeebies. I shop online as well, but I do go out into the rush one time — one Christmas Eve, when I have nothing left to buy or make, I love to be in the crush, but not a part of it. This is one of my favorite rituals of Christmas.

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:48 am

      That’s actually not a bad alternative. I do enjoy (to an extent) the hustle and bustle but I really don’t enjoy shopping in the middle of it. Maybe I need to do what you do.

  12. December 16, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    Your list hit the Holiday nail on the head, my friend!

    • December 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Some things around the holidays should just be done away with altogether!

  13. December 19, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Ugh…Christmas card glitter (impossible to get off your hands), Christmas shopping (traffic, parking lots, and 1 hour long lineups in the shops), and 17 page “Newsletters” stuck in the cards you receive (no explanation needed – it’s just terrible).

    Worst. Things. Ever.

    Great list, Dave!

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      Thanks! I had to deal with each one of these this year. It’s almost enough to make me wish the holidays were over!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

