Home > 2012 Presidential Election > 2012 Election Candidate Match Quiz

2012 Election Candidate Match Quiz

December 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I enjoyed this quiz when USA Today first came up with it during the 2008 election and I’m glad that they’ve put it up again for the 2012 campaign.

The quiz itself consists of 11 questions ranging on topics from health care to defense spending to foreign policy.  You simply answer each question based on your own personal feelings and views and the quiz tells you how well you match up to each of the candidates running for President in 2012 – incumbent President Barack Obama and the 7 remaining Republican candidates (Romney, Gingrich, Bachmann, Paul, Huntsman, Santorum and Perry).

It’s a fun little quiz to take.  It ends up being sort of a “put your money where your mouth is” type of moment where you find out if the candidate that you’ve been supporting really does match your personal views.  And even if it doesn’t it’s a nice little all in one spot to see where each of the major candidates stands on a variety of issues.

I took the quiz myself, of course, and my results were a little surprising.

Perhaps the unsurprising part was that I matched up best with the views of President Obama.  No shock there.  In fact, when I took this quiz back in 2008 I matched up the best with Obama again when he was just one of a handful of candidates seeking the Democratic nomination (I think the results were Obama first, Chris Dodd second and Hillary Clinton third if my memory serves).

The more surprising part is which Republican candidates I matched up best with.  Behind Obama in my personal results was Newt Gingrich.  I kind of like Gingrich to a degree so I was happy that my political views and his were an above average match.

The #3 spot surprised me though – Jon Huntsman.  I’ll be the first to admit that I really don’t know anything about the guy.  I don’t know if he’s currently a Senator, a U.S. Representative or a Governor.  I don’t know what he state he’s from.  The only thing I know is that I’m pretty sure I saw him at one of the 87 Republican presidential debates.  I guess I need to learn a little more about him.

(For the record, he’s the former Governor of Utah and current United States Ambassador to China.  I looked it up!)

You can find a link to the quiz here.  Take a stab at it and let me know how your results turned out.  I’d be interested in which candidate you readers are most closely tied to.

  1. December 16, 2011 at 11:35 am

    I got Huntsman #1, Paul #2, Obama #3.. Newt was last for me, though.

    • December 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      Based on what you’ve said before, I’m not surprised Huntsman is your #1.

  2. December 16, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Very cool share, Dave! Well done!

    • December 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      I think it’s a fun little toy to play with!

  3. December 16, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Ha! I got Obama, Ron Paul, then the rest were all tied with 0 of 11 matches.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      Nothing in common with all but two candidates? You must’ve scored a high match with Obama.

  4. keltrustsnoone
    December 16, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    #1 Ron Paul #2 Obama #3 Gingrich(gags)

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Not much Gingrich love in the room!

  5. keltrustsnoone
    December 16, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Reblogged this on keltrustsnoone.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      Awesome!

  6. December 16, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    Rick Santorum, Michele Bachman, Rick Perry — Really a fun tool to play with.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

      I think your results are almost the exact opposite of mine.

  7. December 16, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    What a fantastic little tool; thanks for sharing it! I’m going to have to have some folks I know put themselves to the test. hehe

    My own results were Obama, Huntsman and then Perry.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      Yeah, I really like this tool too!

  8. December 17, 2011 at 12:37 am

    Obama, Paul, Gingrinch…that last one made me throw up in my mouth a little.

    • December 17, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      Was “Gingrinch” a typo or not?

  9. December 17, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Great, great post. I enjoyed the quiz. I’m most in accord with President Obama (6 out of 11). I was among the very few NY legislators who supported Obama over “favorite daughter” Hilary Clinton. I was also an Obama delegate.

    Not surprisingly, a few of my views aligned with Huntsman (3/11) and Gingrich (2/11). Which probably means I have a borderline personality disorder 🙂 It’s a great tool. I’m going to share it with my friends.

    Dave, you’ve got my vote for the “versatile blogger” award.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      Thank you sir! I have to admit that I’m getting a little more intrigued by Huntsman although I still know little about him. Time to do some homework!

  10. December 17, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Thank everything that’s holy — I’m closest to Obama. By far. Had it been anyone else, I’d have to eat the words of all my arguments with my father, the conservative, Republican, ex-military-officer, “everyone should have a gun in the house!” NRA member, who really likes Sarah Palin, and just can’t understand why she isn’t running, ’cause she would win, according to him!

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm

      If Palin were to run, I’m not sure what would happen. Republicans don’t seem to be acting logically right now and I’m afraid that if she showed up on a ballot she just might do well. Shudder the thought!

  11. December 18, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I’m closest to Obama as well. I’ve learned how much I disagree with all of them haha. Oh well. The max I have for the republican candidates is 3/11 in Newt and Romney…interesting

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      I was surprised I didn’t score as a higher match with Obama although I guess we share general views if not specific answers. He’s still a better choice than anybody the GOP is offering us right now.

  12. December 20, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Coming late to this — Obama 1, Huntsman 2, Romney 3. Not surprised by the first two, I really dislike Romney however so that gave me a shudder.

    For those who don’t know much about Huntsman, I’m from Utah, he was our Governor and resigned (unfortunately for us) to be Obama’s ambassador to China. He is a true moderate, a pragmatist, is smart and as honest as I think a politician can ever be. He’s not afraid to address reality as he talks about the issues. He told Romney in one of the debates in response to a comment Mittens made that China needs to just do what we tell them to do regarding their currency, “You can’t do that.” I was bothered by his change of tone on climate change recently though. Until then he has been pretty straight without changing or pandering. FWIW.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      I keep hearing that Huntsman isn’t a bad guy but I just don’t know anything about him. I’m a little disappointed he’s not getting more support or air time right now. We’re going to be stuck with a Gingrich/Romney battle.

  13. December 28, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    Ron Paul for me…lots of fun!

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Lots of Ron Paul fans out there!

  14. Matt
    April 17, 2012 at 12:35 am

    1.Ron Paul
    2.Rick Perry
    3.Michelle Bachman

    Obama was dead last.

  1. December 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm
  2. December 22, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Leave a Reply

