Home > Site Updates > Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger Award

December 16, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I feel honored to have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Four Blue Hills.

I have to admit that up until about a couple of weeks ago I had no idea that these blogger awards even existed.  So before I get into the rules of what I have to do as a recipient of the award, I have a few questions….

1.  I understand that I have been “nominated” for the award.  While (insert slightly sarcastic voice here) it’s an honor just to be nominated (end sarcastic voice), I want to know when I’ll know if I won!  Is there an Oscars-like ceremony to announce the winners?  Do I need to rent a tuxedo?

2.  I had wondered what it meant to be “versatile”.  Turns out Four Blue Hills already answered the question for me – “I think your blog is, it may be mostly about politics, but you seem to try to cover quite a bit of it, IMHO. And that can cover quite a broad spectrum.”  I’ll go with that!  I never really considered myself a “versatile blogger” but the idea is growing on me!

Regardless, I’m very appreciative of the recognition!  It’s a bit humbling to think that someone thought enough of what they read here to recognize it!

Now, on to the important stuff…….

The rules for the Versatile Blog Awards are:

  • Nominate 15 fellow bloggers.
  • Inform the bloggers of their nomination.
  • Share 7 random things about yourself.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Add the Versatile Blog Award picture on your blog post.

I’ll do the 7 random things about me first.

1.  I like to consider myself an amateur endurance athlete.  I’ve only gotten into it in the last few years but I’m proud to say I have two half marathon and two triathlon finishes to my name.  I plan on entering at least another of each next summer.

2.  I’ve never had a single soda in my life ever.  It’s not because of allergies or anything like that.  Just never had a desire to have one.

3.  I’m a black belt in karate, a brown belt in kobudo and have some training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.  No, I didn’t do it at all when I was a kid.  I earned my black belt at the tender age of 36!  Older people can learn to kick ass too!

4.  My favorite movie of all time is The Shawshank Redemption.  Second place is not even close.

5.  According to the medical definition at least, I have epilepsy.  I had two seizures back in 2005 that came out of nowhere.  Haven’t had one since and hope to never have one again.

6.  I have two daughters – ages 4 and 1.  I know everyone says that their children are the most beautiful but mine really are!

7.  I’m a huge Chicago sports fan – Bears, Bulls, Cubs and Blackhawks.  I know that presents a bit of an issue living in Wisconsin but the people here have learned to put up with me!

For their awards (and I haven’t checked if you’ve been nominated already so if you have I apologize but I still like your stuff!), I nominate….

1. Miss Edee – She was my very first subscriber so she holds a special place in my heart.  She’s a great writer who I enjoy reading very much.

2. KevWan – Also an early subscriber.  He does political commentary like me and we share a lot of similar views so we get along pretty well.

3.  Talin Orfali – I’m sure she’s already received this one and about a hundred other awards but she deserves another.  If you want some truly uplifting and positive reading material, start here.

4.  The Hook – He’s a hotel bellman and tells stories of his interactions with customers.  Always guaranteed for a good laugh!

5.  The Roycroft Report – We’re on relatively opposite ends of the political spectrum but he’s a smart guy so I still enjoy reading.

6.  Diabetic Redemption – One woman’s daily battle to live with diabetes.

7.  I Love The Way You Lied – She was dumped.  She’s blogging about it.  I wouldn’t mess with her if I were you.

8.  Sarah Marie – According to her, she’s an “aspiring Social Worker/forever student, aquarius who loves animals and yes a bit of a bike enthusiast and a fresh meat roller derby gal”.  Count me in!

9.  Kweschn – I checked out her blog and she just got nominated for the Versatile Blogger four times.  Let’s make it five!

10.  Quirk’n It – Covers a little bit of everything and does it with a touch of humor.

11.  Will Of Heart – Sometimes, the poetry and pictures I find here just make me feel a little better.

12.  The Conservative Hillbilly – I enjoy anyone who labels themselves as a hillbilly and claims to “slap down liberals with the back-hand of truth”.

13.  Mother, Beader and Coffee Lover – Because everybody needs to read about life in Tasmania!

14.  Politicin’ – A little more political commentary that I enjoy following.

15.  Betwixt and Between – She simply shares her story and does it in a very real and earnest manner.  An enjoyable read!

So, there it is!  Thank you all again for the recognition and congratulations.  It’s each of you that provides me with a little bit of inspiration and keeps me spilling my thoughts and opinions on the keyboard.

Happy reading!

  1. Kanerva
    December 16, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I’ve seen this versatile blogger badge a few times this week and hadn’t got around to following the link. Well done! Now I’m off to check some of your nominations (Mother, Beader and Coffee Lover I’ve know already 🙂 she’ll be stoked!

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Good, I’m glad! I enjoy reading her stuff and she’s worth the recognition.

  2. December 16, 2011 at 9:05 am

    Congratulations and good luck. Keep up the good writing!
    Fatima

    • December 16, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Thanks for the visit! I’ll keep it up as long as I can!

  3. December 16, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Congratulations.

    • December 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm

      Thank you! I appreciate it!

  4. December 16, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Congratulations, Dave!
    Keep blogging and enlightening the masses. Thanks for the shoutout, too!

    • December 16, 2011 at 2:37 pm

      Thanks! And congrats to you too! You deserve it!

  5. December 16, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Congratulations! And I like your random personal things numbers 2 & 6. Nice 🙂

    • December 18, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      Yeah, the no soda thing tends to really throw people off. It’s kind of funny. Some people think there must be something wrong with me.

  6. December 16, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Congrats Dave! Amazing to have never had a soda. I’m proud to say I’ve never had a McDonald’s burger or anything from there! Thanks for the shout out 🙂

    • December 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Happy to give the shout out. You deserve it!

  7. December 16, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Congratulations….thank you so much for nominating me for this award, I am truly honored….

    • December 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      I enjoy reading your stuff. Keep up the good work!

  8. December 16, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Congrat too you Dave.My has gulped soda while I was doing the backstroke in the womb, and I have not stopped since. Soda is my work beer!

    • December 18, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      “work beer”. That’s funny!

  9. December 16, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Congrats! I’m still stuck and amazed that you’ve never had a soda…. Good for you!

    • December 18, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      I guess there are just some things that you never have a craving for. Soda is one for me.

  10. December 16, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Congratulations, and thanks for the nomination and the kind words!

    • December 18, 2011 at 3:11 pm

      Glad to “share the love”!

  11. December 16, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Congratulations to you as well Dave and thank you for nominating me! 🙂 You are very kind! … Just one minor correction lol I am a HE. I wonder what gave you the impression I was female blogger. LOL (am not offended or anything so don’t worry … am just curious now since you aren’t the first person to think that way.) 🙂

    • December 18, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Oh my God! I’m sorry! I guess I just assumed that the name was feminine just by the sound of it. I guess I should do a better job on research!

  12. J Roycroft
    December 16, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Congrats and thank you so very much for the nomination.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      Thanks! You deserve it!

  13. December 17, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Congrats Ranting Liberal!

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      Thank you much!

  14. December 17, 2011 at 3:38 am

    Well that came out of the blue.. looks like I have to get to work 🙂 Thanks so much for the inclusion.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      You have work indeed! Glad to pass on the recognition!

  15. December 17, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Congrats!! And holy wow, thanks for the nom! 😀 Hope you are having a great weekend!

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm

      Thanks! I was glad to include you on the nomination. I enjoy reading your stuff. You deserve the mention!

  16. December 18, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Hey, ass-kicker. Wow, that gives me hope. You have just given me one good reason to procrastinate on learning martial arts. And not even Pepsi? Has it ever crossed your mind that maybe, just maybe, you’re missing half of your life? Or is it the other way around?

    Congratulations, Dave. Very well-deserved. That’s for sure, honest to goodness. 😀

    Thank you also for nominating me. So nice to see my blog name featured on this post.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      I would wholeheartedly recommend martial arts training to anyone at any age. Just being able to unleash fury on Wavemasters (or better yet, people!) is a great stress reliever and energy burn. Plus, you walk around with a little more confidence too.

      Glad to nominate you. Keep up the good work yourself.

  17. lovethewayyoulied
    December 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Dave this is an awesome nomination and I can’t think of another blogger who’s more versatile than you! Congrats buddy 🙂 And I also have to thank you for the shout out on my blog. I’m a little wowed because while it is a little versatile, it’s still my crazy rant! But thanks again.
    p.s. As my pick for most versatile, am I allowed to choose you as one of my nominees? LOL

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      Sure, you can include me again. I never mind a mention!

      Hey, my blog is a crazy rant too! Crazy ranting people need to stick together!

  18. December 18, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Narry a soda? Kick-ass man! For that fact alone.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      Yep, hard to believe but it is true!

  19. December 19, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Congratulations………..

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks!

  20. December 19, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Hey Dave. Just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for this award! You can find the link to my entry here:

    http://inlalalandd.wordpress.com/2011/12/19/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm

      I posted this on your blog already but thanks for the mention! Always appreciate getting a little recognition!

  21. December 20, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Well, congratulations!!! I think that a photo of the tuxedo legs and your shiny shoes would convince us that you are taking this all seriously enough. This is awards season!! everyone would love to think that they are smarter and more clever than you by voting you in but the fact is that if you were nominated and you turn it around and nominate others, in the spirit of community, you have, then, are, and became a recipient of the award. But it is like a sticky present that you have to pass on before you can really claim as your own! Interesting philosophy, isn’t it.
    You are the best,
    Linda

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      Yep, I agree. I think I could’ve nominated another 15. A lot of good folks around here!

  22. December 23, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    You have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Awards. Please check here…http://jenbeads.wordpress.com/versatileblogger…moi?

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      Wow! Thank you! Always excited to get one of these little awards to put in the “trophy case”!

  23. December 25, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    I want to follow anyone who calls herself a ranting liberal because, ahem, I AM the ranting liberal. Merry Christmas and a happy new year!

    • December 29, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Same to you! A fellow ranting liberal is always welcome here!

  1. December 23, 2011 at 11:00 am
  2. December 23, 2011 at 6:54 pm
  3. December 25, 2011 at 6:01 pm
  4. January 19, 2012 at 10:15 am

Leave a Reply

