Home > Congress > Congress Fails To Agree On Payroll Tax Cut……Again

Congress Fails To Agree On Payroll Tax Cut……Again

December 21, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

In a time when both parties in Congress are urging the other side to come to a compromise and pass legislation that will benefit millions of working Americans, they decided to instead do what they do best………not agree on a damn thing!

After the Senate passed a bill extending the federal payroll tax cut another two months beyond the December 31st deadline, House Republicans decided to kill it with Speaker John Boehner calling it “insufficient” and instead recommending that both the House and the Senate form committees aimed at reconciling the two parties’ differences.

Yeah, because the last time you decided to form a committee was such a resounding success.

If they haven’t already, Congress seems to be working really hard at solidifying their reputation as a group that 1) doesn’t ultimately get a whole lot done and 2) seems more interesting in executing a power play against their opposing party instead of actually governing!  It’s like the kid on the playground who takes his ball and runs home if he doesn’t get his way.

So here we sit again at a familiar place.  Republicans blame Democrats for not getting a deal done.  Democrats blame Republicans for not getting a deal done.  And I blame both of them for driving me to drink!

Republicans in the Senate approved this measure.  Why didn’t Republicans in the House OK it too?  What did they not like that the Senate was OK with?  Supposedly, Boehner thinks the two month extension to the cut is nothing more than a band aid and a better solution needs to be developed.  OK, I get that but guess what happens in the meantime?  The tax cut expires!  Why not extend it two months and give yourself a little more time to come up with an alternative?  You’ve done it with the debt ceiling with the greatest of ease!  Why not here?

I have a feeling we’ll see another resolution here like we did with the debt ceiling.  Both sides stare down the other waiting for the other side to flinch and then agree on some temporary stopgap to allow more time to argue.  Both sides then claim victory.  It’s a familiar path for Congress.

Yeesh, what a mess!

  1. December 21, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I don’t think the House GOP knows what it wants to do.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      I think they care more about trying to win than anything else right now.

  2. December 21, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    This whole tax deal is such a bunch of #&*@! Last April was the first time I have ever had to pay taxes (I’m a full time salaried W2 employee.) So when I realized I wasn’t getting refund, but rather owed quite a bit, I was rather shocked, to put it mildly. So, I submit for the payment plan because I didn’t have that amount available to pay, and I have been keeping it up like a good little tax-payer. I will have this finally paid off about the time April arrives… just in time to owe even more than before. However, according to the IRS, I cannot submit for the pymt plan two years in a row. Well, gee. I’ve been sending you my extra – which isn’t much – every month. How the hell am I supposed to put money away to pay you again next year? It’s a catch-22 and I’m pretty much f*cked next April. They’ll have to accept a payment plan because I sure can’t pull it out of my you-know-what.

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      I didn’t know you weren’t able to do a payment plan two years in a row. I agree though…I don’t know how some people get hammered with taxes and richer folks get away with paying almost nothing. Strange system.

  3. December 22, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    So Congress can stall on something important like this, but works dilligently on an anti-piracy bill that NO ONE likes.

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      I completely forgot about the anti-piracy bill. Good point!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

