Home > Ron Paul > Ron Paul Winning The Nomination: Republican Party’s Worst Nightmare?

Ron Paul Winning The Nomination: Republican Party’s Worst Nightmare?

Within a couple of weeks, we’ll know who’ll be facing Barack Obama for the presidency in November. Yes, I believe that the Republican field is going to narrow down quickly following the Iowa caucus and within the several days following a clear front-runner will have emerged. And I still believe that favorite will be Mitt Romney.

If the eventual Republican nominee isn’t Mitt Romney, there’s a good chance it could Ron Paul. If Paul were to be the nominee, would that be a good scenario for Republicans or the best case scenario for Democrats?

Ron Paul is most definitely not the typical definition of a Republican. While he may be labeled as a conservative, Paul carries some fairly radical views by politician’s standards. He’s in favor of things like limiting the role of government in people’s lives, drastic cuts in government spending and dumping the Federal Reserve altogether. Conservative? Sure. A little too far out there? Possibly.

It’s unclear whether the support that Ron Paul is seeing is coming from true Republican voters or people who have become fed up with government altogether and are searching for a candidate willing to really change things up. It’s been said that this year more voters than ever are casting a ballot against a candidate instead of for a candidate. All those anti-Obama and pro-change votes could ultimately put Paul in the White House but will it put the guy that Republicans prefer there too?

I think the Republican Party as a whole would probably prefer a more typical candidate like Mitt Romney. Ron Paul may be a Republican on the ticket but is a true Libertarian what the Republicans want running on their ticket? I’m guessing not. I have a feeling I know who the Republican Party is going to be rooting for in Iowa.

What say you? Do you think the Republicans would be happy with Ron Paul as the party’s nominee? Feel free to comment below.

  1. January 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    I like Jon Huntsman; he is the only GOP candidate who makes any sense. I live in Utah and he was a good governor although I disagree with some of his positions. I would prefer Ron Paul as a third party candidate. Some of his views are very sensible and some are nonsensical.

    • January 10, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      I think Ron Paul has too many extreme views to be a real serious contender for the White House. I too think Huntsman would be a decent option. Perhaps even better than Romney.

  2. January 3, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Paul personifies the actual Republican electorate.

    The problem is that most of the “leadership” are Republican in Name Only, and they have been fighting hard, for decades, to keep any Conservative candidates like Paul, or Reagan, or Goldwater, from becoming party leaders.

    Whenever the RiNO hijackers fail, there is a massive Republican landslide, like in 1994, and 2010.

    Paul is, essentially, the same kind of candidate…his numbers would be comparable to the wins in those elections.

    http://pithy.butnowyouknow.net/the-facts-about-ron-pauls-newsletters-and-the-racist-articles/

  3. January 3, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    I think the problem could be that he is judged by political standards, instead of what’s good for the people of this country standards. Mr. Paul knows the truth about the Federal Reserve; that it’s about as federal as Federal Express. It’s run by a banking cartel, which most people in America don’t know. I agree that more and more people are waking up to the fact that our government is way too big and I’m one of them. Getting the federal gov’t out of the states’ business in many respects can be a very good thing for all of us.

  4. Devin
    January 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    You know, there are times where I as a liberal agree with Ron Paul but at other times I want to bang my head on my desk. I don’t think he is really a Republican but only ran on the ticket so he had a snowballs chance in even being looked at as a serious contender. I don’t think this country needs any more privatization of critical Government roles in society. We already have enormous corporate greed occurring in this country, and privatizing even more of our government will only create more greed and more out of pocket expenses for the average american.

    I still think Mitt Romney will be the winner when all the dust has settled. I feel he is the only one who could challenge Obama in the general election and have a chance of winning.

  5. January 3, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    I do not believe the Republican party would condone Ron Paul as their candidate. I think the only way he gets on the ballot is to start his own movement. Will Americans agree with that — I have absolutely no idea what Americans are thinking, politically — The person against whom I measure the Republicans is my father, and I think he’s going to write-in ballot for Palin.

  6. January 3, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    I think liberal readers here will find Robert Reich’s prediction of the Republican ticket, including VP, very interesting:
    http://robertreich.org/post/15197337805

    And I’m certain Democrats will find Reich’s prediction for the Democratic ticket for 2012 fascinating:
    http://robertreich.org/post/14932718385

    If I were in the prediction business mine would be:
    Clinton-Clinton in 2016!

  7. acollectionofatoms
    January 3, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    I think the republican establishment would rather vote for Obama than Ron Paul.

  8. January 3, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    I agree with walthe310 — Jon Huntsman was a good governor and has the ability to see past “party” to issues. He’ll never make it through the primaries though. If people, all people — dem., rep., and independent — really took a close look at him I think they would like what they see. H seems likes a true moderate. Ron Paul — not so much. He makes Dems crazy over some things, Repubs. crazy over other things and everybody happy on a few things. There’s not much middle ground with Paul. If I were betting, I’d put the Republican nomination on Romney even though for me he’s tied on the bottom with Newt, Perry, Bachmann and Santorum. They’re all the same brand of pop, just different flavors.

  9. freedom2fascism
    January 4, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Hi Dave,
    Thank you for the follow. I look forward to reading your posts, looks like good stuff here and some great comments too. Best to you and yours in 2012.

    Re: the GOP nightmare…. Yep. The GOP has been promising for a while now that Ron Paul will ‘never’ get the nomination. Unfortunately, this is one of the few promises they will try hard to keep. One of my favorite RP quotes is, “[Liberty] is an idea whose time has come. They cannot stop it. An idea whose time has come cannot be stopped by any army or any government.” [crowd roars here].

  10. January 8, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    Ron Paul is too extreme and his racist and anti-semetic views are common knowledge now. There is no way someone so out of touch with our multicultural society with a strong racial divide can lead us. That’s Obama’s ace in the hole. He’s a Black man that white people are comfortable with. He can form a coalition of voters including Independents. Independents would run in droves from Paul. By the way, his son Rand Paul is a thug. I really hate the Paul clan. I wish they would wither and die. There! I said it. It’s going to be Romney and Obama is going to slam him. My dream is two term Obama, then at least one term Hillary. Senate and House under Democrat control for the whole time too. I’m a die-hard Democrat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

