Home > Mitt Romney > Romney Reigns As Republican Front Runner

Romney Reigns As Republican Front Runner

Following his narrow win in the Iowa Caucus, I just don’t see any way that Mitt Romney does not capture the Republican nomination to face Barack Obama in November.

Yes, I know a couple of other candidates could sneak in there and winning Iowa is by no means a guarantee of making it to November.  But I’m really failing to see another candidate generating enough momentum in time to take down Romney before it’s too late.

The other Iowa darling, Rick Santorum, is expected to fall short of the necessary funding and manpower to make a real push towards the nomination.  Plus, despite a surge in polling numbers in the upcoming primaries in New Hampshire, South Carolina and Florida, he is still well behind Romney in each of those contests and will need to pick up a win soon before he falls too far behind.

Ron Paul I feel really needed to win Iowa to have a chance.  Finishing third takes away a lot of the momentum he had been building up in the weeks getting to Iowa.  Had he won, he might have had a chance to take the lead in polling numbers in New Hampshire, Florida and South Carolina.  Instead, he’s sitting in 2nd or 3rd in the polls and might have trouble winning a primary from here on out.

Newt Gingrich has an outside chance at making a little noise yet I suppose but his best polling days are clearly behind him.  A few more 4th place finishes in the upcoming races and he might have to think long and hard about how much further he can last.

Like I said, I think Romney’s got the Republican nomination pretty much in the bag at this point.  Save for any unexpected Rick Perry type gaffe, he’s well on his way to November.

What say you?  Does anybody beside Mitt Romney really have a chance at the Republican nomination?  Feel free to comment below.

  1. January 6, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Have any idea who you’ll be explaining away as a serious Republican contender just before Super Tuesday? (I do… but I ain’t gonna tell) 😉 😉

    • January 10, 2012 at 4:07 pm

      By Super Tuesday? Romney will be the only candidate left standing.

  2. acollectionofatoms
    January 6, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    Yeah I think that winning both Iowa and New Hampshire, pretty much locks it up for Mitt Romney.
    Santorum’s appeal is limited to religious folk.
    Even though I personally like Ron Paul, it doesn’t seem that most people like his ideas.

    • January 10, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      Paul is popular with the young folks but I think they’d like anybody who presents themselves as kind of a radical. Realistically, he wouldn’t make a good President but he is fun to listen to.

  3. January 6, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    I’m afraid Romney is the default nominee even though — yes, I’m going to promote him again — Jon Huntsman would give Obama a tougher challenge. I had to laugh when the Boston Globe gave Huntsman the endorsement over Romney. Guess they don’t have much love for their former governor. 😉

    • January 10, 2012 at 8:26 am

      I’m also on board the Huntsman train, for exactly the same reasons. However, I too think his chances of winning the nom are slim. That being said, I also think he has the best chance of beating Romney, though it’s an unlikely outcome.

      • January 10, 2012 at 4:08 pm

        I kind of figured you would be!

    • January 10, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      I’d love to see Huntsman do well in New Hampshire but I honestly think his campaign has a matter of days remaining.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

